Let friends in your social network know what you are reading about. These convicted sex offenders have been determined by authorities to pose a relatively high or moderate risk of re-offending. A link has been sent to your friend's email address.
New Jersey is the first state in the country to set up requirements for sex offenders. She was raped and killed by Jesse. Timmendequas, a 2-time convicted sex offender.
Constitutionality of sex offender registries in the United States. Megan's Law is the name for a federal lawand informal name for subsequent state laws, in the United States requiring law enforcement authorities to make information available to the public regarding registered sex offenders. Laws were created in response to the murder of Megan Kanka.
After a viewer heard convicted sex offender Jeff Epstein was coming back to the United States from Paris when authorities arrested him on sex trafficking charges in New Jersey, he said he thought registered sex offenders are not allowed passports. It requires federal and state law enforcement to make registered sex offender information available to the public. According to the State Department since OctoberInternational Megan's Law requires the agency to put a unique identifier on passports of convicted and registered sex offenders involving minors.
Jump to a detailed profile, search site with google or try advanced search. The information that is displayed on this site derives from official public records. It is possible that information displayed here does not reflect current residence or other information.
If you work or attend school in another State, but remain a New Jersey resident, you must still register in the State where you are employed or attend school in accordance with nonresident procedures. You must notify the chief law enforcement officer of the municipality in which you intend to reside or the State Police within 10 days of your arrival in New Jersey. You must notify the law enforcement agency with which you are registered and, if moving to another townmust re-register with the new agency at least 10 days prior to the move.
The RCNL require certain convicted sexual offenders to register with law enforcement authorities and provide for community notification depending upon the degree of risk that these offenders will commit sexual crimes in the future. The statutes apply to those who have been convicted of specified sexual offenses and to those who were convicted of a more narrow set of offenses prior to enactment of the RCNL and whose criminal behavior was found to have repetitive and compulsive characteristics. The requirement of community notification and its scope hinge upon the risk of re-offense which, in turn, defines the "tier" or category in which the offender is placed.
The parents of 7-year-old Megan Kanka of Hamilton Township did not know that a twice-convicted sex offender was living across the street until that neighbor was charged with the brutal rape and murder of their daughter. The crime -- occurring only months after a similar incident in Monmouth County -- prompted passage of state laws requiring notification about sex offenders who may pose risk to the community. New Jersey's law, commonly known as "Megan's Law," requires convicted sex offenders to register with local police.
Defendants charged with sex offenses can find themselves subject to parole supervision for life, or PSL. Once the defendant is convicted of one of the sex offenses listed in the applicable New Jersey statute, they will be required to live in the community under the supervision of a parole officer for a minimum of 15 years from when they complete the sentence imposed in connection with their offense. At the end of the year period, they can petition the Court to remove them from PSL.
It can be useful data for parents any time of the year, especially when their children may not be supervised. But a few words of caution: As State Police warn, it's not a full listing of every person who has ever committed any sex offense. The registry includes people determined to pose a high risk of re-offense classified as tier 3 or a moderate risk tier 2. People on the lowest tier, not included in the registry, are generally those who haven't been violent, didn't have substantial criminal activities are are judged to pose a low risk to the community.